Booking Through Thursday & New Book Club

God* comes to you and tells you that, from this day forward, you may only read ONE type of book–one genre–period, but you get to choose what it is. Classics, Science-Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Cookbooks, History, Business … you can choose, but you only get ONE.

What genre do you pick, and why?

*Whether you believe in God or not, pretend for the purposes of this discussion that He is real.

That would be a very harsh thing to do, because I’m typically all over the place in my reading..! But if I HAD to choose, and I mean really HAVE to, I would choose historical fiction, hands down.

New Book Club
I am part of a monthly Stay-at-home-Parents book club, which I love – we get together one morning a month, let the kiddies play around us while we discuss the book of the month. It’s a great outing, and I’m discovering great new books! We vote every 3 months for the next 3 selections, from a running list of books suggested by members – books on the vote list are selected randomly, so they (and we) each have equal chances of being selected.

So anyway, I’ve also just joined a new book club (I know – where do I find the time? I still don’t know – but I can say that I’m a night owl and read before bed every night…). This time it’s an online book club, hosted by SimpleMom.net. She has 4 books a year, and you can join in to all or just 1 of them, at any time. The next selection is “In Defense of Food”, by Michael Pollan, and the first online discussion, covering Part I of the book, is on May 6th, with discussions every following Thursdays until June 10th. Nutrition, and eating well and as naturally as possible, is a subject of high interest for me, so I thought it would be interesting to join in the discussion, and see what the book had to say!

Join us if you can! 🙂

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday & New Book Club

    • It’s true, it’s hard to decide! 🙂 Historical fiction has to be my favourite genre though, partly because I love history as well… It’s kind of like cheating – you get history AND fiction, two genres 😀 Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

