Booking Through Thursday – “Half”

So … you’re halfway through a book and you’re hating it. It’s boring. It’s trite. It’s badly written. But … you’ve invested all this time to reading the first half.

What do you do? Read the second half? Just to finish out the story? Find out what happens?

Or, cut your losses and dump the second half?

Read the whole thing. I can’t do half things 😉 Movies, books… I always have to finish it if I’ve started – plus I always wonder: but what if it got better later on??

There’s been 1 book that I haven’t finished – it was a chick lit for a playgroup book club (don’t get me wrong – I do like some chick lit every now and then), and I couldn’t really get into it even in the first chapter – something about the style and tone turned me off. And I was on holiday in Ireland, and had also brought with me “The Rebels of Ireland” by Edward Rutherfurd, my favourite author ever, and kind of REALLY wanted to read that book, while, quite conveniently, IN situs. 🙂 I have to say, I don’t regret – there was something special about reading about some places while being there, I felt more connected to the book – and could identify where the characters were.

I’m currently a bit ambiguous with my current read, “Brick Lane” by Monica Ali, but I do think I will finish that one. It’s also for a playgroup book club 🙂

12 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – “Half”

    • I think that part of it is the tone – at first I found the sentences a bit weird, short… I think the author wanted to represent the difference in grammar through that, since the character technically speaks only Bengali (at first anyway)? And also, it’s definitely a different culture than my own, so I don’t readily identify with everything that happens (please do not read: don’t agree 😉 I certainly offer no judgment!). But I’m just short of halfway through, and I guess I got use to it, and although it’s probably not my favourite read, I am curious to see what happens next and what to know what becomes of the characters. 🙂 Also I do want to discuss it with the ladies at the book club 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

  1. I have a 50 page rule. It’s arbitrary, but I allow myself to break it if I’m on the fence, or if I’ve promised to read a book because a friend loaned it to me or something. In general, though, if I’m not liking a book, I’d rather give it up early than slog through and waste time I could be spending on books I’d prefer.

    • That seems fair!
      I have no idea why I don’t give up… Perhaps I’m slightly OCD lol! Granted, I don’t often come across books I HATE either. 🙂

  2. I USED to be the same was (HAD to finish every book I started)… but somewhere along the line, as spare time became to be a rarity; I decided that life was too short, and reading time was too precious to waste on a snoozer of a book…. 🙂

    Now, what Rutherford book would you recommend to me, as a first? I’ve never read anything by that author….

    • ALL OF THEM! lmao

      Hmm… Start with Sarum, although I love them all, I found that one to be quite good and placed on my favourite books’ list. I believe it is his first as well. I liked how he really went from prehistoric up to modern years in that one. And then if you read The Forest, it’s a kind of sequel, located in the forest surrounding Salisbury.

      And of course the Dublin Saga (Princes of Ireland, and Rebels of Ireland) is EXCELLENT.

      He has a new one out, New York – waiting for the paperback 🙂 And I still have London and Ruska to read, actually…! :O I like to space them out, if I read them all back to back I would be out too quickly 🙂 (granted I have read some of them twice too!)

  3. Pingback: FIR ’10 – Reading Question #9 « Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  4. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part IV | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

