Booking Through Thursday – Bedside

What books do you have next to your bed right now? How about other places in the house? What are you reading?

A few things… I rarely have only one book on the go.

Beyond Jennifer and Jason, Madison and Montana: What To Name Your Baby Now, by Pamela Redmond Satran, is in the bathroom – I flip through it when, well, I go to the bathroom, trying to find baby names idea. 🙂 Currently I’m pretty stuck on Caitlin, but my husband is not 100% sure of the choice, so I keep my eyes open!

In Defense of Food, by Michael Pollan (Simple Mom’s Book Club May-June selection), is my everywhere bo0k – the one I usually stash in my purse when going to an appointment, or the one I’ll read in the living room during naptime or early evening while my husband watches the hockey game. I find I don’t do really good with more “info” books at bedtime, because, well, that’s when I read to fall asleep, and I simply don’t retain any info haha  (but I have no problems retaining plot lines of a novel though! 😉 )

And my current bedtime novel, which is actually becoming my all-free-time book (naptime, and as soon as baby is asleep in the evening, to kind of way too late I night… much close to an obsession really *sigh*), is the Twilight series by Stephanie Meyer. Yes, I have joined the cult – 5 years later LOL I was waiting to have all 4 books, in Trade Paperback (my favourite format), to read them, but I was in the mood for a light read and a good fictional/mystical/magical/however-you-call-these-books (I don’t just mean vampire plots, I like all “magical” plot lines; one of my favourite ever TV series was Charmed, for example) after reading Brick Lane, by Monica Ali, for my Stay-at-home-Parents’ Book Club (which I didn’t really enjoy – not bad, but not good either), and I thought, from the sizes of the books, that the first 3 would take me to the release of the 4th in paperback on August 3rd (already pre-ordered).
Hmm… wrong! I just started book 3, Eclipse, yesterday… Twilight took me maybe 5 days to read, and I literally zipped through New Moon in 2 days. I have a feeling I’ll be done Eclipse by the end of the weekend… But, my friend is lending me her copy of Breaking Dawn 😉 I am still buying it for me, I think I will have to re-read them later on, at a less speedy pace, to get into the story a bit more deeply! I usually don’t like reading books too quickly, because then you kind of stay on the brim of the story, never really fully engaging with it, but what can I say – they are really, really compelling, and I NEED to know what happens. Right now! The writing style is simple and light, yet the plot is always moving, always something going on, and the author is really good (IMHO, yours can differ) at setting suspense right in the first few pages that you just know won’t be resolved until the very end, so – you’re stuck. You have to read.

*sigh* At least my husband finds my obsession with a good story amusing 🙂

3 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Bedside

  1. i read the Twilight books pretty fast myself. read the first two in a long weekend then took a break and got involved in other ones then came back and read the last two in another few days. And Michael Pollan’s books are all very good.

    • I am indeed quite enjoying Pollan’s book 🙂
      And yea – I’ve been zipping through that series… will definitely have to come back to it at a slower pace at a later time – now that I’ll know the ending, there won’t be such a rush 😉 Just started Breaking Dawn this morning.

Leave a Reply

