Booking Through Thursday – Disappointment

Name a book or author that you truly wanted to love but left you disappointed. (And, of course, explain why.)

Brick Lane“, by Monica Ali, left me rather disappointed. This was the May selection for my stay-at-home parents’ book club, and it was chosen in our quarterly vote by many members because it was apparently highly rated – and the synopsis really did seem good.
(we have a running list of books suggested by members, and every 3 months the organizer uses Random.org to select a handful of books to select from, and then we are invited to vote for our 3 favourites – at the end the 3 books with the most votes are our books for the next 3 months. Those not chosen are kept on the running list. It’s a good system!)

I was disappointed in the book because I felt it unfortunately did not deliver. The action was very slow moving, if any action there was. It felt to me that nothing really happened at all through all the book. I didn’t feel like there was any character growth, even though there was a change in situation at the end – but even that wasn’t a huge break from the previous situation. It just felt more ambiguous than anything – together, but not together… (vague I know, I don’t want to give any spoilers, but if you read it, you’ll know what I mean by that 😉 ). It was hard to connect with the characters, and I found lots of the events were not described very well or in detail, leaving you wondering what exactly happened – and that applied to some life changing events too.

However, this being said, these are simply my honest personal opinions – I should note that the great majority of the ladies in the group DID enjoy the book very much… 😉 Ah, well! I’m enjoying this month’s read a lot 😉 (“Reading Lolita in Tehran“, by Azar Nafisi).

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Disappointment

  1. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part I | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  2. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part V | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

