Booking Through Thursday – Discussion

Do you have friends and family to share books with? Discuss them with? Does it matter to you?

As I mentioned in previous posts, I’m part of a Stay-at-Home Parents book club (which is a bit of a misnomer, as some of the ladies involved are working, but have some free mornings where they can join us!), where we get together once a month to discuss a book while the kids play around us. It’s a great outing, the kids like it (we rent a room at a community center), and it provides us with some discussion time! The books are chosen randomly, first from a running list of suggestions by members, which the organizer randomly chooses from every 3 months to create a voting list. From that list, we vote for our 3 favourites, and the 3 books with the most votes become our next 3 books – those not selected are kept on the running list for future votes.

I personally love it. I love discussing books with other people, but find it hard sometimes to find others with similar interests, or who want to talk about books more deeply than “Oh yea, that latest chick lit was cool, I liked it a lot!” (nothing wrong with that, I read them too ๐Ÿ˜‰ย  But it’s not a very huge discussion, once both parties have agreed it was “cool”!) It also permits me to read books I might not have chosen myself, or even known about. I like to give each selection a fair chance, in case I like it, but also because I would like others to give my suggestions a chance if it was selected and to come to the meeting to talk about it.

This month, we’re reading “Reading Lolita in Tehran“, by Azar Nafisi. This is definitely a book I wouldn’t have chosen myself – in fact, I didn’t even vote for it in the last selection! I think the synopsis was a bit misleading, the book was much more insightful than just relating the meetings of a group of ladies. A very good read – I finished it yesterday ๐Ÿ˜‰ The meeting date is not yet scheduled, but I’m looking forward to it!!

Leave a Reply

