FIR ’10 – Reading Question #1

As part of the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2010, Callapider Days has reading questions for us to answer, if we so wish, every week. This week’s question is:
.

What do you think is the biggest obstacle to your reading? What prevents you from reading as much as you’d like? OR, if you feel like you already read as much as you want to, what choices have you made to make that happen?

.
My answer:
Definitely, my biggest obstacle is having young children around! I love them to bits, but it will take away some of your hobby time 😉

Then my second obstacle, is having more than 1 hobby, and therefore dividing my occasional me-times into all 3 of them: reading, knitting/crocheting, and scrapping. Usually, I will knit during naptime while catching up with some TV shows, and evening I’ll do some chores, knit and watch TV with my husband, or scrap, depending how I feel/what needs to be done. And I always read before bed – it’s crucial for me to be able to fall asleep: it clears my mind from all the thoughts of the day. If a book is really good or if I have a deadline (book club meeting book for example), then I might read also during naptime or the evening.

And finally… well a newborn will disrupt my routine too! lol  I find I certainly don’t knit or scrap as much lately, and there’s no “naptime” at the moment (my oldest still naps, but the newborn is anybody’s guest when it comes to sleep or nursing or, crying, at any time in the day). However, marathon nursing sessions and sometimes long nights of arm sleeping and nothing else DOES give me plenty of reading time 😉

OR, if you feel like you already read as much as you want to, what choices have you made to make that happen?
2 responses to “FIR ’10 – Reading Question #1

  1. Knitting! I have no time to read anymore.
    I’m trying to read Wolf Hall for book club and I don’t think
    I’ve made it past page 50.
    My knitting queue is so long these days, it’s crazy.
    BTW, congrats on the addition to the family.

    • Sorry so long to reply, I was having issues with my comment formatting (I changed the design!)

      I have to say it’s a close call between knitting and reading too usually 😉 Except that I can’t quite knit while nursing (I tried!!) – it’s doable but not quick, awkward, and the tension becomes all funny. So I suppose I can see it as a Get-Through-Your-Massive-To-Read-Pile period. 😀

      Thanks!! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

