FIR ’10 – Reading Question #4

As part of the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2010, Callapider Days has reading questions for us to answer, if we so wish, every week. The 4th question is:
.

Do you ever dog-ear the corners of book pages to mark your spot? Or are you a faithful bookmark user, refusing to damage the pages of your books? OR do you have another way to keep track of where you are in a book?

.
My answer:
I would like to say that I NEVER dog-ear books… but I do 😦  I hate to do it though. But sometimes I do! But when I do, it’s a very tiny corner dog-ear 😉

My reasons to dog-ear is usually to make a section in a book that I really like, and want to refer to later – therefore it mostly solely happen in non-fiction books. Sometimes I’ll do a teeny tiny dog-ear for just until I get access to those sticky strip, so I can replace my dog-ear with those – and then I’ll work hard to flatten that dog-ear 😉

I almost never ever dog-ear novels. I’m a faithful bookmark user – although what counts as a bookmark is a vague description 😉 I have a couple of “official” bookmarks, so to speak. Those pretty ones they sell at bookstore for astounding prices considering they are small pieces of cardboard (ha!)

But every now and then, I’ll treat myself to one! I treated myself to one when I graduated University – it was purple and pretty with butterflies. 😛  It’s still my main bookmark – but it’s starting to fray… I suppose I could laminate it with book covers (that’s what I use to laminate the file folders and games I make for my daughter). I also treated myself to one when I started going to the Bible studies in my Christian playgroup – I figured it would be nice to have a nice bookmark with a nice prayer or saying on it, so I went “shopping”. 😀

I had a bookmark I received when I ordered from an online store once that said, approximately (can’t remember the exact quote). that a good book is like a journey, those that only read one page have not travelled far (something along those lines). I cannot find it anymore though! Sad.

And then I got my daughter to make some bookmark last Mother’s Day. I printed some Mother’s Day bookmarks and got her to draw on them, and then I laminated them and cut them 🙂 They are some of my favourite bookmarks! I also gave one to my mom – she’s an avid reader too.

And then there’s all the odds bits and pieces that end up serving for on the spot bookmarks – paint colour strips, pieces of papers, library rental slips. I’ve also been known to pick up bookmarks at counters whenever I see them (especially if they are pretty) – you never know when you’ll need another bookmark!

2 responses to “FIR ’10 – Reading Question #4

  1. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2010 Wrap-Up « Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  2. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part II | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

