FIR ’10 – Reading Question #5

As part of the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2010, Callapider Days has reading questions for us to answer, if we so wish, every week. The 5th question is:
.

When you read a book, do you read EVERYTHING? In other words, do you read the dedication, the acknowledgements, the foreword, the afterword, the prologue, the epilogue, the appendices, etc.? Or do you just read the “meat” of the book? Or is your approach somewhere in between?

.
My answer:
Perhaps somewhere in between.

I normally don’t read the dedication (might glance at it) nor the acknowledgements (it’s all very good and nice, but it’s mostly a list of people I don’t know!).

Foreword and afterword depends on the book, and whether they add to the book or not. I might start them, glance them quickly, and then decide if I want to read them or not.

Prologue and epilogue I’ll read, as they are typically part of the story.

Appendices, it depends. It they add to the book (facts for non-fiction, or add to the story), I might read them. If not, I might glance those that interest me, and skip those that don’t.

One response to “FIR ’10 – Reading Question #5

  1. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2010 Wrap-Up « Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

