FIR ’10 – Reading Question #6

As part of the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2010, Callapider Days has reading questions for us to answer, if we so wish, every week. The 6th question is:
.

Where do you love to read? Note: I don’t mean where do you actually do most of your reading, because that might be the carpool line, the work cafeteria, or even the bathroom (if you have to escape from a few small children in order to read a chapter of your book). I mean, what are a few of the places where you LOVE to read?

.
My answer:
I think that, in a way, the places that I actually do most of my reading are also the places that I love to read!

When I worked and took the bus to work daily, I had about 1 hour of bus to do to and from work, and so I read, and read, and read. I love reading on the bus, and looked forward to those moments in my day – I remember looking at the clock for the last hour or so of work, and getting giddy and excited because I could sink into my very good current novel soon. 😀  If the book was particularly VERY good, I would even start my reading standing up at the bus stop! (thought that’s not quite my favourite reading spot… It would get uncomfortable to read standing up after a while :P)

These days, I do a lot of nursing reading. Miss C still nurses 8-10 times a day, and although she doesn’t quite take as long to gather her sustenance, it’s still a nice break. Of course I can’t read at every feeding – if my oldest is up and about, I have to do some entertaining and interacting at the same time. Although I’ve been known to casually glance at my book if she happens to be watching a show at that moment, or happily involved in her own toys… tee hee. I like to tell myself it’s setting a good example LOL

My favourite time is when Miss A is down for her afternoon nap, and I nurse Miss C to sleep. I will then let her sleep in my arms, while I read the afternoon away. Lovely! (often though I end up falling asleep too… sleep deprivation will do that, interfere with your reading like that 😦 )

I love, love, love to read a good book and a nice warm {hot} bath. Especially when the door is lock. Ha!

Finally, I CANNOT go to bed without reading. My mind would simply race too much, and I end up not sleeping – I’m very prone to insomnia. Even if it’s 2 am and I finally got both kids settled for the night (when they decide to tag-team wake up…), I have to read a bit before closing the light. Usually I will read until I start falling asleep on the book, and then I’m assured of closing the light, my eyes, and being immediately asleep. However, if the book is TOO good… oops!

One response to “FIR ’10 – Reading Question #6

  1. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2010 Wrap-Up « Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

