FIR ’10 – Reading Question #9

As part of the Fall Into Reading Challenge 2010, Callapider Days has reading questions for us to answer, if we so wish, every week. This week’s question is:
.

Once you begin a book, do you feel compelled to finish it? Or have you been known to give up in the middle of a book, to walk away from a book that is just too annoying, boring, etc.?

.
My answer:
I have already answered a similar question through Booking Through Friday, so here was my answer!

Read the whole thing. I can’t do half things 😉 Movies, books… I always have to finish it if I’ve started – plus I always wonder: but what if it got better later on??

There’s been 1 book that I haven’t finished – it was a chick lit for a playgroup book club (don’t get me wrong – I do like some chick lit every now and then), and I couldn’t really get into it even in the first chapter – something about the style and tone turned me off. And I was on holiday in Ireland, and had also brought with me “The Rebels of Ireland” by Edward Rutherfurd, my favourite author ever, and kind of REALLY wanted to read that book, while, quite conveniently, IN situs. 🙂 I have to say, I don’t regret – there was something special about reading about some places while being there, I felt more connected to the book – and could identify where the characters were.

.

Bonus question:
.

We have less than one month left in Fall Into Reading 2010! Can you believe it? If you’d like to share…how are you doing? Are you on track with your goals? Will the upcoming holidays derail your reading plans?

.
My answer:
I’m doing pretty good… considering I have a new baby around and all! I’m up to 16 books read; in October alone, I’ve read 11 books, which is more than I ever read in a month so far this year. I think all the nursing sessions and long nights rocking a baby to sleep are helping… 😉 This being said, nursing sessions are getting shorter and nights longer, incidentally, it’s taking me more time to finish  book! ha! 🙂

I’m definitely on track with my goals considering my goals were something around 5 books. 😛 2 of these I haven’t read yet – I’m still waiting on them from the library. No worries – I have PLENTY in my To Read list at home to go through in the meanwhile! Problem is though, I keep finding new books to read, and renting those instead from the library… I think that, for Spring Into Reading 2010, I will make my focus my at-home To Read list, to bring that already-bought-books-yet-read pile down a bit! I paid for them, gotta read them, right?

Once you begin a book, do you feel compelled to finish it? Or have you been known to give up in the middle of a book, to walk away from a book that is just too annoying, boring, etc.?
One response to “FIR ’10 – Reading Question #9

  1. Pingback: Fall Into Reading 2010 Wrap-Up « Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

