Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part I

This was posted a while ago on Booking Through Thursday – never a better time than now to answer it πŸ˜‰
It’s long – 55 questions! – so I’ll be posting it 10-ish questions at a time, for the next few Thursdays.
.

1. Favorite childhood book?
As a child, I loved the Berenstein Bears series – I could NOT go to bed without one (or two, or three) of their stories!
As an older child, I really loved Anne of Green Gables.
As a tween, I was hooked on The Baby-Sitters Club series.
.

2. What are you reading right now?
You can find my current reads in my Book List: currently, it’s Don Quixote, Green for Life, and Ministry of Motherhood.
.

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
On actual request, I have The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman (I read that one on my e-reader, but I want my husband to read it too so I have a paper copy on request for him πŸ˜‰ ), My Heart is Like a Zoo (a children’s book, all the animals are made with hearts! After reading this post, I want to do February heart crafts with A using the images in the book), and One Year to An Organized Life (which was reviewed on Unclutterer, and I’m curious to see if it’s any good).

And then there’s the books I have in my “For Later” list, which I’ll request when I have room for an extra book… πŸ™‚ A few selections: The Five Love Languages of Children also by Gary Chapman, Gourmet Rhapsody by Muriel Barbery, Kanata by Don Gillmor, The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry, Sushi for Beginners by Marian Keyes, Ireland, A Bicycle, and A Tin Whistle by David A. Wilson, Positive Parenting by Alvin N. Eden, The Well-Adjusted Child: The Social Benefits of Homeschooling by Rachel Gathercole, and Self by Yann Martel.

I’m not even gonna go in my To Read list of books waiting to be picked up at home…
.

4. Bad book habit?
Starting one, starting a new one, starting a third one, going back to the second one, reading a bit of the third one, finishing the first one, starting a fourth one, loosing the second one, reading half of the third one, finishing the fourth one, finding the second one, finishing the third one, finishing the second one, repeat.
.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Baby Einstein Van Gogh’s World of Color – it’s actually Miss A’s. She doesn’t want to bring it back! bhaha
.

6. Do you have an e-reader?
Yeppers – my Christmas gift. πŸ™‚Β  I use the Nook by Barnes and Nobles. After doing a lot of research before Christmas, I decided on that one because it has more functions than the Kobo (notes, highlights, browser, Sudoku – very important, the Sudoku) for the same price, and I really do enjoy the touch-screen navigation panel at the bottom – it’s not a cumbersome keyboard that’s always there, and from there everything is in place to add features with software upgrades (for example, when it came out last year it didn’t have the mobile browser on it – it got added on with software upgrades).
.

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
See question #4, and my Book List. It covers the question. πŸ™‚
.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Not really.
.

9. Least favorite book you read this year (so far?)
I’m gonna go with 2010 for that one since we’re only a few weeks into 2011. I didn’t really enjoy Brick Lane, by Monica Ali. It’s not that the book was terrible in itself, but it really didn’t do it for me. I have a review of it here, as an answer to a previous Booking Through Thursday.
.

10. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
Same as above for going with 2010.
There’s actually quite a few… All my favourites have little hearts β™₯ next to them.
Here are my favourites from my favourites πŸ™‚
The Red Tent, by Anita Diamant, in January; The Twilight series, by Stephanie Meyer, in May (yes, I’ve conformed. I see nothing wrong with it – they are good!); In Defense of Food, by Michael Pollan, in June; Reading Lolita in Tehran: A Memoir in Books, by Azar Nafidi, in July; The Signature of God, by Grant R. Jeffrey, and The Mission of Motherhood, by Sally Clarkson, in September, The Forgotten Garden, by Kate Morton, in October; and The Elegance of the Hedgehog, by Muriel Barbery, and Preparing My Heart for Advent, by Ann Marie Stewart, in December.
.

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
Fairly often, as I always give book club selections a go. I see it as it being part of being part of the book club (now that’s an awkward sentence!) Unless of course you plan on not reading the book and discussing it that month for reasons like lack of time – then you wouldn’t read ANY books selected, not just THAT book. πŸ˜‰ I would like the others in the club to give my selection a go, so I feel it only fair to give the others a go. And I’ve found some really great jewels like that, too, that I wouldn’t have otherwise picked up!
.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
Historical fiction, supernatural/magic stories, everyday-life drama stories (I’m not sure how to describe that one… types like The Forgotten Garden, Olive Kitteridge, Gail Anderson-Dargatz’s novels…)
.

to be continued…

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part I

  1. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part II | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  2. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part III | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  3. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part IV | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

  4. Pingback: Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part V | Slightly Frugal. Sometimes Hippie. Always Busy!

Leave a Reply

