Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part II

This was posted a while ago on Booking Through Thursday – never a better time than now to answer it πŸ˜‰
It’s long – 55 questions! – so I’ll be posting it 10-ish questions at a time, for the next few Thursdays.

Part I
.

13. Can you read on the bus?
Absolutely. It’s the one most single thing I’d say I miss from working downtown and having a 1h bus ride mornings and evenings – uninterrupted reading time. πŸ™‚
.

14. Favorite place to read?
In bed, just before sleep, as well as nursing, once Baby C has fallen asleep and is calm and serene in my arms – so relaxing πŸ™‚ (if I don’t fall asleep too…)
.

15. What is your policy on book lending?
Pretty loose, I’ll lend to good friends I know well, and family. I keep a running list of who has what so I don’t loose track.
.

16. Do you ever dog-ear books?
I’ve done so on SOME occasion… but I don’t really like to πŸ™‚ Here is my take on it, answered during the Fall Into Reading 2010 challenge.
.

17. Do you ever write in the margins of your books?
I don’t like to do that either, but I have done it when studying a book for a class.
.

18. Not even with text books?
Yes, text books I will. πŸ™‚
.

19. What is your favorite language to read in?
The language it was written in – provided it’s in French or English, haha! I’m not proficient enough in any other languages to read them πŸ˜‰ If it’s a translation from another language, I’ll usually lean toward to English translation. No reason other than it seems to be my preference!
.

20. What makes you love a book?
A great, well-rounded story, with no loose ends or unfinished lot lines, with great characters who evolve and move forward through the story, and leave you feeling like something happened, a change of character (big or tiny) occurred, and that you are leaving some memorable friends behind. I always say that if you are either reluctant to start a new book until you’ve had a day or two of breather, or if you are still thinking of the characters a couple of days later, then it was a good book!
.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
If I feel moved by it, changed by it. Or, if I know that it would be right up the person’s alley!
.

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

