Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part III

This was posted a while ago on Booking Through Thursday – never a better time than now to answer it 😉
It’s long – 55 questions! – so I’ll be posting it 10-ish questions at a time, for the next few Thursdays.

Part I
Part II
.

22. Favorite genre?
Isn’t this awfully like question #12? In any case, you can find out the answer in question #12.
.

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Mystery and crime investigation novels. Beurk. I don’t even wish I did. 🙂
(not saying they are bad – you can love them. I just don’t 😉 )
.

24. Favorite biography?
Oh that’s another genre I don’t really read much of (but that one I wish I did).
.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Some, yes. Some were good, some were crap.
.

26. Favorite cookbook?
Cook Once a Week, by Theresa Albert-Ratchford
Fresh from the Vegetarian Slow Cooker, by Robin Robertson
Vegetarian Cooking, by Emma Summer
Blender Baby Food, by Nicole Young
.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
The Mission of Motherhood, by Sally Clarkson (2010)
Currently reading The Ministry of Motherhood, also by Sally Clarkson, and it’s just as inspirational.
Just love her work. She is such a great woman and mother, her values are so in line with mine and her family dynamic is a good example of what I want/hope to achieve with my girls, it is so refreshing to read her.
You can also read her blog at I Take Joy.
.

28. Favorite reading snack?
Anything that can be munched on – chocolate chips are nice, though not the healthiest. 😉 Other good options would be grapes, pomegranates, pieces of cheese…
.

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience.
I can’t think of anything. I don’t really get influenced by hypes, or get bothered by them. If I like it, I like it; if I don’t, I don’t.
.

30. How often do you agree with critics about a book?
I don’t read many book reviews – I tend to select my books because the cover is pretty (very legitimate reason, mind you), because the synopsis looks good, because it’s an author I enjoy, because someone recommended it to me, or because it’s a book club selection. I guess what I wrote above applies here too: If I like it, I like it; if I don’t, I don’t.
.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I have no problems with it. I still try and remain polite to the author – my taste might not be their or everyone else’s tastes, especially if the critic is purely on a preference & enjoyment level. If the critic is more about style, writing, plot, etc. – well it could still be just me 😉 So I’ll say what I don’t like and why – and then it’s up to anyone reading my review to make their choice.
.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
Japanese – because it would be cool. When I studied it in university, I had hopes of reading mangas in Japanese. Although I have my minor… well I’m nowhere near a manga reading level 😉  And anyway, I forgot most of it since I graduated and never used it (because we all know that Japanese is one of the main spoken language in Canada, right?) No, really – I had plans to use it to do a PhD in Post-War Japanese Contemporary Art (in Japan), but that didn’t really quite work out, for a host of personal and logistical reasons. It’s ok – I love my SAHM daily grind. 😀
.

33. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
La peau de chagrin, by Honoré de Balzac. Eeps!
Some of the bigger classics are intimidating too, just by their big sizes. Not that I mind big books – in fact, I enjoy them: more time to dive into the fictional world created, and to spend with the characters of the story.
Oh yes, and the Lord of the Ring trilogy is intimidating. Entertaining – but huge and VERY descriptive. But I’d read it again 🙂
.

34. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
None – I am afraid of NA-THING. Bhahaha. (seriously, I’ll read anything)
.

35. Favorite Poet?
I don’t enjoy poetry. Tried, but it never did it for me. Sorry, poets!
.

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

