Booking Through Thursday – Reading Meme, Part IV

This was posted a while ago on Booking Through Thursday – never a better time than now to answer it 😉
It’s long – 55 questions! – so I’ll be posting it 10-ish questions at a time, for the next few Thursdays.

Part I
Part II
Part III
.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out of the library at any given time?
2 to 3, on average. Plus the ones I own that are on the go too…
Yes, I manage to follow the plot line/argument of each of them 😉
No, it doesn’t take me months to finish each. A few weeks. If I’m reading just one book at a time (rare, but it happens), it’s a few days to maybe a week – unless I’m REALLY busy.
.

37. How often have you returned book to the library unread?
Almost never – I like to finish what I’ve started. Call it a perfectionist thing.
Although one of my friends pointed out in the comment how she used to be like that, until she decided that life was too short to waste on boring books… she does have a point…
.

38. Favorite fictional character?
Hmmm…. I like quite a few of them.
To the risk of being sappy and conventional – I like Bella and Edward (yes, I like Jacob too)
I really enjoyed Ronan O’Mara in Frank Delaney’s Ireland.
Oh yes, Rebecca Brandon née Bloomwood (the Shopaholic herself) is classic. Luke is cool too.
.

39. Favorite fictional villain?
Erm… no one comes to mind. Well I guess Damon in The Vampire Diaries is somewhat of a villain – and quite charming.
.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
A bi of everything – just in case I feel like reading this and not that. That was one of the sellers for me to get an e-reader 😉 Much lighter to pack!
.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading.
A day or two. But even then, I probably read a few blog posts or part of an ongoing magazine (snippet reads, as I call them – perfect for slotting in a free 30-seconds time slot).
.

42. Name a book that you could/would not finish.
Currently, I’m having issues with Don Quixote. Part of me wants to finish it, because it’s supposed to be entertaining, and maybe it gets better later on (frankly though – if it isn’t good by page 220…)? And because it’s a classic and it would be trendy to say I’ve read it. Part of me, though, feels like the answer to question #37 – life is too short to waste 1000 on a book that draaaggggsssss.
.

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Kids. Then again, I don’t usually read when I’m with the kids LOL  But say my husband is watching/playing with them, I go upstairs or – luxury! – in the bath to read… Yea, never really lasts for long.
.

44. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
The Lord of the Ring are EXCELLENT adaptations. I enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love too – I only saw the movie, but it didn’t have a draggy, cut cut cut feeling of an adaptation. And the TV version of The Vampire Diaries is EXCELLENT – completely different plot line than the books, and far better in my opinion.
.

45. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Almost all of them. Films and books just don’t have the same flow. But sometimes it’s nice to watch the movies anyway, just to see what they did with it, who they chose to act out the characters (and visualize them – I’m a visual), and maybe get a detail or two you missed in the books. Most are watchable, if not all that good 😉
.

to be continued…

Leave a Reply

