Spring Reading Thing: Update Week 2

First week for me, but officially week 2 of the challenge.
Edit April 3rd: Oops! I had forgotten to list my finished magazines!

.
~* Books & Mags Finished *~
.

New York, by Edward Rutherfurd
As usual – EXCELLENT. I love Rutherfurd’s books!
I would say though that perhaps the pace was a little too quick – lots of periods covered, and so each section was rather short and quick, except for one or two that lingered longer. I think I prefer it when there’s a huge chunk of story over a couple of years with the same characters, and then a jump of a few generations to another chunk of story with their descendents. You can linger on the characters longer, get to know them, and really get into the story. When it jumps around every dozen pages to a few years later and you only spend a chapter or two with each generation… you don’t get to know them as well.
But that would be my only critic – and it’s very much a personal preference thing anyway. 🙂  Other than that – if you enjoy historical novel, then pick this one up, and if you enjoyed Rutherfurd before, you won’t be disappointed!

Today’s Parent, April 2011
I figured I would read the latest issues as they come in, and then work on my backlog in between… 😉
.

.

.

..
.
~* Books Started *~
.

Positive Discipline for Preschoolers, by Jane Nelsen, Cheryl Erwin, and Roslyn Ann Duffy (21% done)
My counsellor highly recommended that book, so I’m reading it!

.

.
.

.
.

~* Next Up on the List *~
.

No-Cry Sleep Solutions, by Elizabeth Pantley
I think we might need to address some sleep issues with Miss C, so I thought I’d revisit the book.

.

.

.
.

Night World No. 1 (Secret Vampire, Daughters of Darkness, Spellbinder), by L. J. Smith (I already read Secret Vampire last May, so I guess this is technically a To Finish book… but anyway 🙂 ).
Came in from the library, so it’s a next up!

.

.

.

Dead Until Dark: Sookie Stackhouse Series, Book 1, by Charlaine Harris
Also came in from the library.
.

.

.

.

.

Leave a Reply

